Las Barrancas De Burujón – It’s Like The Grand Canyon And Lake Titicaca All Rolled Into One!

Barrancas Cartel…OK, maybe not quite… but the scenery is still pretty stunning in my book. The Las Barrancas landscape is totally incongruous with the arid terrain that dominates the rest of Castilla La Mancha, where lakes are about as common as smiling Latvians.

Las Barrancas is about a 20 minute drive from Toledo. Some friends and I went out there last Sunday for a lovely picnic in the sunshine.

They recently made a Coke commercial at this place, click here if you want to see it.

On the way up there, I snapped at some wildflowers yet again... I just find them totally irresistible!

Walking up to the viewpoints, I snapped at some weeds yet again… I just find them totally irresistible!

Barrancas

Las Barrancas

Barrancas

Barrancas Fields

Barrancas

Barrancas

17 thoughts on “Las Barrancas De Burujón – It’s Like The Grand Canyon And Lake Titicaca All Rolled Into One!

    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      Thank you! It does look other-worldly, considering the location of the place. It’s tucked away, and if you don’t know it’s there, you’d simply miss the motorway exit.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Kathleen

    This is incredible! Who knew such earthly beauty could be found so close to the city walls…. do you happen to know if any busses make their way there?

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      Hi there! I don’t think it’s on the bus route…. which is a crying shame 😦 If you know anyone with a car, it’s worth bullying them into taking you there.

      Like

      Reply
      1. ladyofthecakes Post author

        On Sunday, we went to Consuegra where the famous windmills are – also worth it! Will be putting up the photos on Thursday or Friday. I don’t have a car either, and it sucks 😉

        Like

  2. Kathleen

    I’ve been there luckily! And to Campo de Criptana.. closer to ciudad real… I haven’t blogged about it but probably should! Viva La Mancha!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Kathleen

        I nearly just posted asking if youve been to cuenca yet! I’ve already got the tripped planned! In two weeks I’m going for my birthday! So excited! Let me know if you have any “must-sees” besides the hanging houses!

        Like

      2. Kathleen

        That doesnt seem possible! Do you think its worth staying the night or would a day trip be sufficient?

        Like

Leave a Reply

