A Triple Helping Of Liebster

Another lovely award has come my way, I’m over the moon 🙂 This one’s a wee bit more faffy than the One Lovely Blog Award, but I’m game for anything, me.

First things first. Here are the rules:
•    Post the award on your blog
•    Thank the blogger presenting you with this award and provide a link back to their blog
•    You then need to write 11 random facts about yourself
•    One good turn deserves another, meaning, you then need to find 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers who you think are deserving of the award so that you can then nominate them!  In other words, keep the love going!
•    Finally, the award presenter will ask 11 questions of you which you need to answer and then you, in turn, ask your nominees 11 questions, and so it goes.

Now, I’ve had not one, not two, but THREE nominations for the Liebster, and I’m having them all:

Liebster3liebster2

Liebster1

The bloggers crazy enough to nominate me: Black Wolf, Jutta Breitling of Discover and Create, and Expatially Mexico.

Thank you Thank you Thank you, you lovely people!!!!!!

sweetiehearts

The …erm… long-awaited 11 facts about myself:

1. I blogcrastinate when I should be working.

2. When I was 6, they made us draw pictures of our desired ‘grown-up professions’ in primary school. I wanted to be a hairdresser, and my best friend Martina a nurse. (Click here if you want to meet her). She ended up working for Germany’s biggest health insurer, while I never got anywhere close to fiddling with people’s hair 😦

3. I never once had head lice as a child. Worms were more my thing.

4. I love necklaces and pendants. I’ve got about a zillion, and they keep breeding. I don’t own any valuable jewellery, though. Cheap and cheerful, that’s me through and through.

5. I’ve never been to Rome.

6. When I was in my mid-twenties, I worked as a Braillist for the RNIB (Royal National Institute for Blind People). During my six years with them, I read (while transcribing them into Braille) probably a thousand books I’d never have picked off the shelf on my own accord, from woodwork to training for triathlons to the Koran.

7. The first book I ever worked on was a children’s book in which the main character, an 11-year-old girl, died when she fell off a make-shift swing attached to a tree branch. I hadn’t expected this, and was totally devastated! It was a fictional book meant to teach children about how to cope with loss. Well, I was waiting for the hamster to cop it!

8. I trained (and worked for a bit) as a Nutritionist, but I tend to keep quiet about this, because it triggers people to go on at length about the various digestive malfunctions caused by their latest kale-and-turnip diet. I do love talking about food, though 🙂

9. I detest liquorice and passion fruit in equal measures.

10. A few months ago, I was contacted by a TV production company in response to a couple of ‘crazy flatmate’ stories I wrote about on this blog. Nothing came of it in the end (due to me no longer living in London), but it as all very amusing at the time. If you’d like to read them, click here.

11. I detest cooking. It totally stresses me out.

Here comes the part where I answer the nominee’s questions. I’ve stuck to Jutta Breitling’s questions, because I received her nomination before the other two.

1.  Do you play an instrument?  If yes, which one?
I don’t, unfortunately. I was never encouraged to learn an instrument when I was younger. Not that that’s an excuse – my brother wasn’t either, but he plays bass guitar and drums in a band. Some years ago, I was toying with the idea of learning to play the flute, but then I read that it gave you wrinkles around the mouth, you know, just like the ones smokers develop as they get older, and that put me off.

2.  It is quite possible that some company will offer commercial flights into outer space (or to the moon) within our life time. If you had the money would you do it?
OK… this spells sharing a confined space with (potentially annoying) people and roughing it at the other end. No bloody way! As soon as someone puts a cake shop on the moon, I’ll go.

3.  What sound or noise do you find pleasant?
People calling out to me: “The food is ready”.

4.  Do you cry at weddings?
Absolutely. Because they BORE me to tears. Divorces would be far more entertaining… but people never give you an invite to those.

5.  Restrictions aside, where would you rather live, big city or countryside? Why?
Big City. But with regular excursions to the countryside. I need a balance.

6.  Which language other than your mother tongue would you like to speak? Why?
Japanese. I’m in awe of Japan’s food culture, and I don’t just mean the ‘good’ and nutritionally sound menu items like sushi and steaming bowls of ramen. They’ve got some seriously whacky stuff going on, like chewing gum that’s meant to make your boobs grow?!

7.  What profession would you absolutely not want to pursue?
PA to some famous twat.

8.  What makes you laugh?
Clever, well-timed in-jokes

9.  Do you have a bucket list? If not, have you thought of writing one? Name one thing that would be on it.
Visit Rome. Learn another two languages (properly, not tourist-level). My lifetime goal is 5, I’m at 3 right now, have started on my 4th.

10.  Why do you think you have to tell 11 things about yourself, answer 11 questions, nominate 11 blogs and come up with 11 new questions for this award?  Isn’t 11 a rather strange number – and may be just a tad  excessive?  I asked myself that question but could not come up with an useful answer.  My hope is, that you can.
Scientific studies have shown that answering any more than 11 questions about anything in a row induces a catatonia.

11.  What is your present state of mind?
Cataonic.

And here are my questions for my nominees:

1. If you had to choose between a snake and a spider as a pet, which would it be?
2. When you were little, what was the meanest thing another kid ever did to you?
3. You’re King/Queen Of The World for a day. What’s the first law you would pass?
4. What was your most hated subject at school?
5. If you could bring two historical figures together, who would it be and why? (They needn’t have lived at the same time.)
6. What type of social occasion do you enjoy the least?
7. What is the most adventurous food you’ve ever tried?
8. Sweet or savoury?
9. Which physical feature do you least appreciate inheriting from your either one of your parents?
10. Fast forward to age 75. What do you think you’d regret most not ever having done?
11. Name one item/style of clothing that’s in fashion right now and that  you just can’t stand the sight of. Or, if you’ve not been out recently, you can name something from a past era. The 80s usually provide rich pickings…

Finally, my nominees:
1. A Girl And Her Travels –  Learn surprising things about Moscow and Russia
2. A 4Star Life – A five-star blog by a Brit living in Mexico City, where you can just go and buy your driving license in your local supermarket.
3. PolyglotFun – Has the techie gene I so sorely lack. Sigh.
4. Ottominuti – Multilingual expat in Brussels, trying her best to live several lives compressed into one.
5. Languagewanderer – Polish girl hell bent on learning Norwegian in a year.
6. Snippety Snippets! – Entertaining, brief and thought-provoking.
7. The Panvel Post – News from Panvel, a city in Maharashtra (India). Puts my first-world problems into perspective.
8. My Life As A Toledana – fellow Toledo blogger, solidarity rules! Has some excellent write-ups of Toledo’s recent Corpus Cristi celebrations, with the positive and enthusiastic slant that I dismally failed to muster.
9. ThisThatAllOfTheAbove – Where I learned that in Buenos Aires, ‘facturas’ are delectable little pastries! In Spain, facturas are dull and tedious invoices 😦
10 Dutch Times In Riga – A Dutchman in Riga, who’s definitely NOT crazy (so he tries to reassure us) and not too keen on having his hair cut.
11. Weird & Coos Stuff Seen While Out and About – Does exactly what is says on the tin. With lots of photos.

23 thoughts on “A Triple Helping Of Liebster

  1. jutta

    Technically speaking you can’t be catatonic yet, so here come two more questions to get you there for sure. I think I know two languages you already speak past tourist level: German and English, what’s the third? Which one (the fourth) are you learning right now? If it’s Japanese you’ll have to answer one more question, you know which one. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      LOL! I live in Spain, so I speak Spanish. Am embarking on Portuguese, but not getting anywhere fast with it. I shall succeed eventually… and if it costs me my eye teeth.

      Like

      Reply
      1. jutta

        Portuguese and after that Japanese, wow. You like a good challenge.
        I enjoyed reading your Liebster post, thanks for taking the time. I’ll be back to check on your progress. 🙂

        Like

  2. pollyheath

    I admire your dedication to slogging through the process of learning a new language.

    And a big thank you, but also: oh nooooooo. I think I’m on your level of behindedness!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      You’re doing the same, aren’t you??? Well, I guess your Russian must be pretty good by now. Thinking of the next one…?

      You’re totally allowed to be behind on the awards front. They don’t expire 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Kristin

    Some interesting facts that you share here… I never had head lice either, is that something we were supposed to have? Can you buy them somewhere?
    Haha, I was also contacted by some TV show. they wanted me to share some embarrassing travel story related to health problems. Apparently they liked my throw-up-in-front-of-some-posh-restaurant-in-Vienna story.
    But what I MEANT to say was: triple congratulations!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      Well, head lice were never a big problem when I was at school. I remember one friend having them, and that was that. It’s just that some of my friends, i.e. those who have kids in primary school, are occupied with delousing activities on a weekly basis!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

