Segovia Castle’s Splendid Ceilings

Segovia Castle

Segovia Castle

Elaborately carved and painted ceilings are (or rather, were, in the distant past) a big thing in Spain. Lucky for today’s punters, they do a pretty good job at restoring them.

I clamped my eyes (and camera) on these really amazing ones inside Segovia Castle.

I nearly gave myself neck trauma in the process…

Celing 1Ceiling 2

Same as the one above

Same as the one above

Ceiling 4Ceiling 5

Notice the carved figures of knights and kings going all the way round

Notice the carved figures of knights and kings going all the way round

Ceiling 4Ceiling 8

Notice the row of carved heads on either side

Notice the row of carved heads on either side

For more pictures of Segovia Castle, click here, and for the city’s world-famous Roman aqueduct, click here.

29 thoughts on “Segovia Castle’s Splendid Ceilings

      1. ladyofthecakes Post author

        I prance around with my lance in France in a trance,
        my glance askance,
        just give me a chance
        I just cannot dance!

        See, it makes perfect sense. You’re just not applying yourself.

        Like

      2. Expat Eye

        Ok, ok…
        Who is that Lady in front of me,
        I’ve seen her round town – who can she be??
        Before I have time to close my eyes,
        She’s snapped me in my every guise.
        My photo’s now all over the net,
        My privacy ruined, my hands in a sweat.
        But next time, I’ll snap out of my trance,
        Let’s see how she likes a good poke with my lance!
        Better?

        Like

  1. Anna

    Oh gosh, I remember those. GORGEOUS. Unfortunately I had an old, dinky camera with me that didnt capture the interior well in low light. So thanks for these!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      I’ve only got a digi cheap camera, and I’m always surprised that the pics do turn out half-way decent. They don’t hold up to close scrutiny, though. To the guys who have those semi-professional photoblogs, the flaws are only too obvious 😉

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

