Photo Challenge: Which Way? In Toledo, All Depends On Who You Are…

Which Way? Is the theme of Cee’s Weekly Photo Challenge, and she’s left us plenty of room for interpretation.

As regular readers of this blog will know, I live in a medieval town in central Spain, and getting around, never mind actually finding your way(!) through the maze of cobbled streets, can be a challenge at times. But, it’s always been easier for some. If, for instance, you happened to be the Cardinal, and you were not at all inclined to amble about mingling with the great unwashed masses, you got to use one of these swish elevated walkways that connect many buildings of importance:

Cardinal's Walkway

Walkway of Real Colegio de Doncellas Nobles (Toledo)

…but if you were a common pleb, then you’d be making your way through crevices like these:

Toledo PassagewayFor more rustic street views of Toledo, click here.

21 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Which Way? In Toledo, All Depends On Who You Are…

      1. The Polyglut

        Haha that is true. Clearly medieval Toledo took that to heart! Uni is so close (35 days, but who’s counting?) and yet so far away! I have my timetable, accommodation and kitchen appliances, yet it still feels like a lifetime away. Still, the time will come and until then I am making the most of my time with family and friends.

        Like

      2. ladyofthecakes Post author

        Aw, how time drags when you’re looking forward to something…!
        Sounds like you’ve got it all sorted. Uni will give you plenty to blog about IF you can find the time.
        Good luck 🙂

        Like

      3. The Polyglut

        I do hope that I’ll have the time to blog about my experiences while I’m there. I have relatively little contact time so it should be possible. Thank you 🙂

        Like

  1. pollyheath

    I’ll go with the Cardinal, thanks. The walkway of the masses looks like a good way to get stabbed late at night!

    How’s crime in Toledo, by the by?

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      There ain’t none. I can walk about, in the darkest alleyways, at any time of day or night, without fretting.
      I think somebody was bitten by a rabid dog a few weeks ago, that was BIG news.

      Like

      Reply
      1. pollyheath

        Wow, that’s awesome. But a little disappointing. Those old buildings and narrow alleys lend themselves to dapper robbers and devious killers.

        Like

  2. americantaitai

    I love this juxtaposition of photos! Thank you for showing us your lovely and beautiful city! I don’t think I would trust myself to get around w/out GPS or a good map and mobile phone in Todelo, looks pretty tricky!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

