Street Snaps: Brawn, Killer Heels and Sheer Delights

Curious to see what came of last week’s stalking expedition?

Toledo is positively teeming with tourists at weekends, so a half-hour outing usually yields *something*.  So, here we go:

First up is (surely!) an escapee from a Russian prison camp:

Listen KGB, I want my bounty paid out in cakes!

Dear KGB, I want my bounty money paid out in cakes.

And now, the Japanese… aw. At least six busloads are deposited in the old town every hour. They are allowed to roam freely for 59 minutes after the obligatory guided tour, then they flock back to their air conditioned sardine cans.

Anxious of the evil effects of the Spanish sun on their carefully cultivated pallor, Japanese ladies don floppy hats, umbrellas and many also wear these protective sleeves:

...because, you know, tanned arms, now THAT would look totally ridiculous...

…because, you know, tanned arms, now THAT would look totally ridiculous…!

How’s this for a fancy outfit:Woman

Although, one has to wonder how far she’s going to get in her footwear on Toledo’s cobble stone streets.

Just as well she's pushing  that buggy. It doubles neatly as a zimmer frame.

Just as well she’s pushing that buggy. It doubles neatly as a zimmer frame.

I can see your knickers, Madam! And now the whole world can. But maybe that's what she was aiming for...

I can see your knickers, Madam! And now, so can the whole world! But maybe that’s what she was aiming for all along… am always happy to be of assistance.

[In case you missed last week’s street stalk, it’s here]

38 thoughts on “Street Snaps: Brawn, Killer Heels and Sheer Delights

  1. The Polyglut

    How very inconspicuous! People watching (or stalking, whatever you want to call it) is always fun, particularly when there are tourists involved. Japanese tourists seem to be an endless source of amusement for people everywhere.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Anna

        This is why in Moscow I can only take pictures of ppl from the back or when I can pretend to shoot something else. If I get a fancy camera I might try fooling people with my RT building pass and tell ppl it’s a press accreditation or something (I dont have one, I am corporate)

        Like

      2. ladyofthecakes Post author

        Well, most of mine are taken from the back, and I’ve got no shortage of faux targets to point my camera at in order to deflect from my true intentions – you’ve seen Toledo old town!

        Like

      3. ladyofthecakes Post author

        You need to get yourself to those rainy streets in the centre. The whole world’s on the Red Square, and everyone with their cameras out.
        Not that I’m trying to bully you again or anything… 😉

        Like

      4. Anna

        Aww. Well, let’s put it this way, as someone who’s been to RS a couple of hundred times, it’s not exactly a top destination. I try to keep it real 🙂

        Like

  2. TBM

    I always wear stilettos when I walk Miles. How else does one go for a leisurely stroll. No cobblestones here though, just parks. I areate the grass as I go.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

