My Friday Treat: The Return Of The Torrijas

Oooooh, torrijas… how I love thee! Let me count the ways…

OK, let’s settle for chewy round the edges, squishy (but not soggy!) in the middle and sugary & cinnamony all over.

Torrijas are a seasonal Spanish dessert, which makes its annual appearance during lent. They are simply slices of bread soaked in milk and honey, dipped in egg, fried in olive oil and sprinkled liberally with sugar and cinnamon. Recipes vary, some involve soaking the bread in wine.

Just imagine my delight when I discovered them glistening under glass on the counter of my usual Friday afternoon haunt! I ditched my habitual hankering after the infamously messy apple pie without even a second’s thought.

I declare the torrijas season officially open!

I declare the torrijas season officially open!

44 thoughts on “My Friday Treat: The Return Of The Torrijas

  1. Anna

    Is this like the French Toast? I must say, even tho I am not one for much sweet stuff, this to me is more a bread dish, which is always a winner for this Russian ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      I’d already had a coffee a couple of hours earlier, and I can’t do more than one a day. But yes, they sure are great with coffee. I’m going back to that place tonight, and I’m praying that there will be torrijas!

      Like

      Reply
  2. expatlingo

    This looks just like something I would swoon over. So lovely to discover some new cake (even if I’m not able to taste it myself from Hong Kong!). Sometime I will be in the right corner of the world at the right moment and will look out for it.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      Maybe you’ll be (un)lucky and they are just a regional thing found in my neck of the woods… not that this would stop you from making your own. I bet you’re scouring the interwebs for recipes right now, aren’t you?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  3. Kim G

    Would French Toast by any other name taste just as sweet? It would seem so. I think you need to try these things Al Americano, which is to say garnished with a bit of real maple syrup.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where it’s kind of amusing that our breakfast item becomes someone else’s dessert. Perhaps that’s what’s wrong with our national diet.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      In the US, EVERYTHING is really sweet, even ‘normal’ bread tastes like cake. There is def something wrong, as great as much of the food is over there. As someone who works in the food industry, I find this fascinating. However, the only thing that’s really wrong with the national diet in the US (and in the UK and in German), is not so much the ‘what’ but the ‘how much’. Portion sizes are ginormous. That really struck me when I moved to Spain, where portion sizes are about half those found in these other countries. Same goes for the size of the people. A coincidence??? Don’t think so…

      Like

      Reply
      1. Kim G

        Portion size is no doubt a problem, but here in the USA, people eat too much sugary and salty junk food. In minuscule quantities it’d be OK, but we’re far from that.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Old Shop, Fresh Cakes | Travel with Intent

Leave a Reply

