One Yellow Balloon’s Lofty Long Life

The idea for this post came from Anna, who recently put up a pic of an escapee green balloon in a Moscow Metro station. It reminded me of the yellow balloon, which has been stuck to the ceiling of the chapel of San Juan de los Reyes Monastery here in Toledo for well over two years. (I’ve been living here for two years, and it’s been up there ever since.) I went down there today to take a couple of shots.

You see it, that tiny speck of yellow right up there to the left of the chandelier cable?

You see it, that tiny speck of yellow right up there to the left of the chandelier cable?

I'd always thought it was Tweetie, but now I think it's a Pikachu Pokemón...

I’d always thought it was Tweetie Pie, but now I think it’s a Pikachu Pokemón… (I had to look this up, lol)

It does seem to be slowly deflating… those Pokemón may be magical creatures, but what goes up must come down. Eventually 😉

38 thoughts on “One Yellow Balloon’s Lofty Long Life

  1. Anna

    I think it’s its corpse simply got hooked/stuck on that spiky ornament 😛 Microfoil balloons start to lose helium after a week. (I’m so mean today…I am procrastinating on a translation job)

    Like

    Reply
    1. Anna

      I managed to write that blog post and take like 100 pictures of Moscow in the rain, and read 20 articles on Jezebel, and yes I am not even 10% into the text I have to finish by tomorrow night.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Expat Eye

        The whole thing was just pure comedy really! From them showing up an our and a half late to getting to the forest and realising that the camera wasn’t charged. 😉 Three women and a camera – fun times 😉

        Like

      2. Anna

        This is how we make ourselves feel better: You’re in sunny Spain, I am in power-charged Moscow, but this poor gal is stuck in LATVIA! Let’s let her have SOMETHING, right?

        Like

      3. Anna

        Actually I might be jealous of that. That’s why I started writing about BJs to attract this demographic 🙂 How’s the writing coming along? I just finished page 1 of 11 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment