Annual Return Of The Expat: Enter ‘The Village’

Every summer, I migrate back to my point of origin for the duration of around 10 days. This is the optimum time span (and it took me almost a decade to figure this out) to enjoy gorging myself on ice cream servings whose dimensions are roughly equal to a child’s tricycle and gaze at panoramic mountain views without wanting to throw myself under a tractor. Once, I did a three-week-stint… bad mistake. I won’t elaborate.

Anyway, yesterday, after an 11 hour schlepp (lots of waiting time due to inopportune connections), I had made my way ‘home’. The airport put on a five-star welcoming ceremony:

Welcome to Bavaria

Below, I give you a first glimpse of The Village at dusk:

View from my mum’s balcony – yes, there’s a maypole and, to the left of it, you can see my granny’s little yellow house

As you’ll have tweaked by now, The Village and I have a fraught relationship. It sure was great while I was a kid. My friends and I roamed the fields and meadows and we ruled the farmers’ barns – nothing more fun than climbing high up onto the rafters and leaping off into a fresh pile of fragrant hey, petting new born calves’ slimy pink noses and being chased up plum trees by vicious gaggles of geese.  OK, the latter wasn’t all that much fun, but you get the picture.

As a teenager, though, being trapped in The Village was hell. Its not much more than a hamlet, really, home to just over 600 souls. NOTHING to do, a bus every couple of hours until the lock-down at 7pm…

In order to stay vaguely sane, I read a couple of thousand books until, aged 19, my escape plan came to fruition and I leapt onto a plane bound for London. I didn’t return to The Village for three years. We needed a stand off.

My friends have heard me talk about The Village, and finally, courtesy of this blogging shenanigans, they’ll get the chance to see it for themselves.

Apart from being so very small, it’s a typical Bavarian village – not of spectacular bucolic beauty, but not terribly ugly either. I just want all of you to bear in mind that, no matter what you see in the pictures I’ll be uploading over the coming days, somewhere in my heart, it actually looks like this:

Dungeon

[This is a ‘real’ dungeon in Toledo 🙂 No longer in operation, though.]

If you’d like to see some more photos from The Village, click here.

36 thoughts on “Annual Return Of The Expat: Enter ‘The Village’

  1. northern_star

    Ha ha! Laughing at the comparison with the Toledian (?) dungeon.
    I HATED going back to my home town once I’d left at 20… took me 15 years to get over it and to then enjoy going to visit my mum again.

    Like

    Reply
  2. TBM

    a thousand books. I would have loved that. I was a boring teen–stayed in to read. Not sure I read as much as you. Glad you like the village again. Separation helps.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Anna

    Wait, is ice cream another thing that Germany/Bavaria is known for? OMG WTF I MISSED OUT!!! Sorry….major Deutschland nostalgia from a 5-hr trip….

    Like

    Reply
      1. Anna

        Would you prefer ‘Barbarians’? More historically accurate but far less flattering – plus their manners were anything but 🙂 OOOOH, can you ship me one, to Moscow?

        Like

  4. Daniela

    I hear you! I also found that 10 days is long enough, but still make the trip worth it. Though for me it’s not so much the town as it is my lovely family…

    Like

    Reply
      1. Daniela

        Luckily she’s not my granny, I feel no guilt leaving it exactly where it is. I am sorry about any feelings of self worth you may have had though.

        Like

  5. Kristin

    Yay for Bavarian villages! 🙂
    10 days does indeed sound like a good plan. Just enough time to enjoy Brezn and Obazda – and then hop on that plane and go back to Marzipanville.
    I hope you are having a great time – and stay away from tractors!

    Like

    Reply
    1. ladyofthecakes Post author

      We’ve just had a BBQ with the neighbours. And there’s going to be a food post tomorrow… about something else, though. Curious to hear whether you know that one 😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. Kristin

        Hum, probably not. Even though I am a big fan of Munich (I prefer it over Hamburg, even if that means I am going to tarred and feathered by all “Hamburgers”), I am not a fan of Bavarian cuisine. Nor of any German cuisine for that matter. The sorrows of a German vegetarian… I like German desserts, though!
        Looking forward to the next post then!

        Like

  6. bevchen

    I agree… any longer than 10 days at home is torture! 10 days is long enough to see everyone who needs seeing and indulge in food-based delights without going insane.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment